TO NECROMANCE OR NOT TO NECROMANCE THAT IS THE QUESTION?

The topic of “Necromancy” or “Necromantic Magick” sounds so very scary, gothic or macabre but it’s not really. Anyhow I recently read on another blog that recommends various substitutes for real blood. Ranging from beetroot or wine or dragons blood etc. Now this may be fine for what I call “necromancy lite”. When people are virtually role playing to a degree. Where Witches or Magicians etc. are pretending to even themselves that they are working with the disincarnate when it’s obvious they are not. To read of this makes me feel quite sad because there are people out there that believe that these kinds of things will make up for real human blood. Trust me they won’t. These items are fine for rituals but will not work like a real blood offering for the disincarnate. Spirits are highly evolved beings compared to us and they know the difference straight between substitute fake blood items and real blood away. Some of them even get angry when they know that your trying to fool them. Just don’t do this because it’s not worth it at all and your necromantic practice could end very badly and when this happens even the most experienced Witch, Mage or Spiritualists of any kind can not make the situation better. This is why I am writing this particular blog to share with you some of the things that can happen to you when practising Necromancy. It’s not a game to play with spirits it’s a sacred act.

From what I have learnt and observed none of these alternative substitute’s make up properly for real blood because spirits are not fooled in any way believe me. If somebody is squeamish then in my honest opinion they shouldn’t be practising necromancy anyway. To me it’s not a hobby or something to do but a vocation, it’s a true calling. I not only work with my own ancestors but also spirits from my local graveyard. I also look after my local graveyard especially the very old and neglected graves. There is also such an incredible energy that I experience from the death current which is like nothing from this world and is hard to describe. However it is not only powerful but also pure and incredibly visceral that’s for sure. After all cemeteries are a”Necropolis” a true “City of the Dead”.

They (the disincarnate) all deserve our respect in every way as after all we shall join them one day. The disincarnate always react best to real blood. This is because it reminds them of being truly alive. Back when their bodies were full of blood with a beating heart and a brain. I’m not writing this to sound macabre; I’m sharing this so that you can get an idea about how the disincarnate feel about being alive and why they respond so well to pure blood. I will also mention if one is making a pact with some discarnate entity there is nothing that attracts them and binds them to you more than using your own blood. Yes necromantic work with blood is risky but the results are more than worth it. Do your homework read and practise your ritual at home first to make sure you really know what your doing before you get to the cemetery.

Always remember to pack your basket or bag or whatever full of all your necromantic tools from your wand and athame to your offerings for the dead, your incense, herbs, oils, lancets, candles. As well as a lantern or torch of some kind if you are practising Necromantic Magick at night. To me that is the best time as not only is the cemetery quiet with nobody (alive) there. But it is also the best time psychically to connect with spirits in my experience because nearly everybody in the surrounding area is asleep. So there is no psychic chatter to disturb you in your mind. Thus making it so much easier to practise your  I personally find that after midnight and before 3-4am is the best time for necromantic workings. It’s so quiet that I can set up everything that I need to for the spirit I am working with. I have also found that I get better results as it’s easier for my own mind to have no distractions from others so that my mind can first of all connect with the death current and then the individual spirit that I am working with.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My own Necromantic Skull which I use at home in my ritual room, at the cemetery of course and sometimes down on the beach. As well as up on our cliffs overlooking the ocean near our home. As well as within my sacred circle within my own backyard upon my lawn where nature surrounds me in every way from our large palm trees, stunning Rubinia trees, gum trees, wild coastal sun daisies, eclectic plants to large amounts of wild lavender and wild rosemary etc. They are not only beautiful to look at but also always useful for me as a Witch to use for spellcraft too. One needs to feel safe and relaxed when attempting spirit invocation/evocation, divination or communication of any kind. When you feel truly relaxed that is when you are able to really get yourself into the type of trance and quietness of mind needed to practise Necromancy. That is when your spirit work and magick truly begins! I truly can’t complain though as I’m surrounded by nature everywhere here from trees to the ocean so close by. For these things I am truly Blessed and say “Thank you with love and appreciation”. 


If you feel the need to wear something that protects you? Apart from wearing the standard pentagram somewhere upon you, it’s a good idea to wear onyx somewhere upon you. You can use Jet as well but I don’t think it’s as powerful as onyx. I’ve found onyx is the best crystal as it reflects any negative vibrations or spirits away from you. I also like to wear amber somewhere either a necklace, earrings or a bracelet. After all amber is the fossilised resin of pine trees that grew 30 million ears ago. Quite often amber is unpure and has fossilised insects within it but that doesn’t matter. Amber not only increase psychic ability but in the Tarot corresponds to Death as well as the Chariot. Garnet is also great to wear or even to take with you in the form of a crystal in your hand because of its protective qualities for the wearer. In the Middle Ages it was said to protect you from demons and phantoms of all kinds. Astrologically garnet corresponds with the two fire signs Sagittarius and Aries, Planet Mars and Tarot Strength. Garnet also protects you from Baneful Spirits and has been a favoured stone for shamans and witches for Millenia. I personally favour garnet because I am your typical Aries in so many ways.

When first entering the graveyard and leaving your ritual offerings at the Gate such as alcohol like bourbon and/or penny’s, food of some kind (pomegranates are great if you are able to find or purchase them), crystals of any kind are great, chocolates, cigar/s and more. In the end you offer what you feel resonates with your particular cemetery. As offerings and gifts should be culturally appropriate to where your “Necropolis” is located. As well as the culture, race and religion of the disincarnate within the cemetery you have chosen to work in. This is important because you don’t want to offend the spirits within. For instance  if it’s a Jewish cemetery section you are working in you may like to offer some food that is “kosher” and if it is a Muslim cemetery or section you would offer food that is “Halal”. As well as not offering alcohol as it’s forbidden in Islam. A Christian cemetery you probably already know what to do there and if it’s a Pagan section, well as Witches and Mages etc. that’s like hitting the jackpot. 

After all as Pagans ourselves we all know what they would like right! Even better if you actually knew the person and which Gods, Goddesses, Angels or Daemons that they worked with. As this will help you contact them so much more easily. If the person was somebody whom was once very close to you obviously you already know what they liked in life….so offer it to them. Be patient and don’t be upset if nothing happens the first time round. Necromantic Spirit work can take much time, concentration, patience and a giving nature. Make sure you are truly listening with all of your senses not just your ears. Quite often spirits like to communicate telepathically or some like to just answer yes and no questions using Divination like a pendulum. Others answer better to scrying using so many things from a clear quartz or smoky quartz crystal to automatic writing and even pictures. I find that all spirits are different and can quite often surprise you by communicating with you in ways you don’t expect. Sometimes they can frighten you but usually it’s not on purpose as it takes a lot of energy for a spirit to communicate even at the cemetery. Sometimes at home I communicate with certain spirits through my home portal. However I need a whole other blog to explain to you all how that works, the drawer backs, the good parts and what it’s really like to invite strange spirits into your home? Trust me it’s not something anybody should undertake lightly.

Anyway back to the cemetery. If the graves are very old such as before the year 1900 it’s a good idea to Google the era they are from because then you will get some ideas that you wouldn’t have normally thought of. Such as offering coloured twine and thread because sewing a lot yourself as well as embroidery was such a huge part of most women’s lives back then. Another example is when you tune in psychically and find a spirit whom really wants to work with you and has answered clearly “yes”. Then you can ask him or her would like as an offering? This is a good idea if you intend to work with your spirit for quite awhile. It’s good practise and polite to bring your chosen spirit an offering that you know they would like. One particular beautiful young spirit who died in 1886 wanted an offering of oil. As when he had been alive he had worked on late 1800’s farming machinery in our area. So wheat and beer reminded him of being alive so that’s what I took to him and still do sometimes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is a picture of Baron Samedi or Papa Legpa from Haitian Voudou. He is the keeper of the Crossroads and the Underworld and so much more. To learn more check out Haitian Voudou and the Loa. Believe me they have an incredible magical system within Haitian Voudou.


You can use medical lancets like diabetics do and they don’t hurt a bit. I have a large box of them and sometimes use 3-4 of them to remove enough blood just for one magickal working. Some Witches, Occultists or Mages also use extremely sharp small surgical knives or even razor blades sometimes. However these can be extremely dangerous when used by either the inexperienced, fearful or anybody whom is unstable at the time. In any of these cases one shouldn’t be practising necromancy with blood ritual because to be honest it can be very, very dangerous. It can also be unsettling. It can also go wrong too and if it does? Well you need a really airtight back up plan because not all spirits are friendly. Just like people some are great and others can get really angry. If so there are ways to placate them also with offerings, prayers and mantras. Then just turn away and don’t look back. Because you don’t want them following you home as they can latch themselves upon you quite easily.

I also always remember to give the Gatekeeper of the Graveyard an offering at the gate. When I get there and when I leave as well. It can be the traditional three penny’s to food, tobacc, flowers or herbs. But always offer something for the Gatekeeper at any cemetery you visit after all it’s good manners to bring a gift to whomever you visit isn’t it. The disincarnate are no different than we are and they relish and reward those whom bother to bring them gifts. Often I bring them alcohol like a shot of bourbon, flowers and some chocolates. I’ve never known a spirit of any kind to be upset at that sort of offering. Also put your heart and soul into choosing your gifts and always give with generosity as they truly know whether you have or not. Now this might sound a bit Santeria or Voudou to some but to me it’s all part of being a Real Traditional Witch. As we live by the oce an I sometimes take shells, sand and seawater as an offering to the Gatekeeper and/or individual spirits. They seem it to like offerings from the sea as for most of them the sea was a big part of their lives apart from farming in the district. As over the years many of us incorporate practises from other parts of the world because let’s face it we are all human and they are all disincarnate/spirits of some kind. So it really doesn’t matter if you incorporate practises from other belief systems as long as you always treat them with respect and have all the knowledge you need to make certain belief systems part of your eclectic practise as an “Eclectic Traditional Witch”.

Now if all this sounds like too much trouble to you? Then you shouldn’t be practising necromancy at all. It is not a practice for everyone and sadly those whom don’t practise it are the first to judge and condemn. So to them I say “butt out and leave us alone to practice our Craft in peace”. So far I’ve been lucky and nobody has ever, ever disturbed me. It also helps me a lot as out here our cemetery gates are not closed at night. Probably because our population is much lower and our crime rate is very low too thankfully. Therefore it’s not a problem leaving our graveyards open due to these two factors which is great for anybody whom practises the so called Dark Arte of Necromancy. Once you truly understand this practise you will know there is nothing evil about it unless you want it to be. Yes tragically there are some whom have no morals and bait spirits to trap them in either boxes, pots or jewellery. This is basically spiritual slavery which is completely wrong and when these spirits finally escape? Then they wreak so much havoc and sorrow upon their owners as revenge for their captivity. This is a whole other topic that I will focus on in another blog about “spiritual slavery”. Just don’t do it ok then you will be fine because if you really analyse it….How would you like to be baited and trapped for years and years “ad nauseum” or even eternity? It goes without saying….you wouldn’t right….and you wouldn’t want it for your loved ones either.


So before you go dashing off to your local cemetery or wherever to do blood ritual to invoke or evoke the dead, daemons, angels or any god form of any kind or beings wha sure you really know what your doing. That you know all the risks involved and what to do about any sort of bad situation or spirit that may arise. Be prepared and be alert. Always make sure that you have all that you need with you in a basket or bag of some kind. Always be alert for other people especially at night because you don’t want to get into any trouble with your local authorities. Also always clean up any residue from your candle wax , incense and magickal tools etc. because you don’t want to leave anything behind on any of the graves apart from any offerings you have given of course. These days there are more and more ordinary people whom leave unusual and sometimes permanent offerings on graves. I’ve seen all sorts from the usual angel statues to teddy bears especially if it’s a young child’s grave. Now those are the graves that make me feel the saddest. I always work with old graves and with spirits whom have lived a long and fulfilled life. For instance if I want a spirit whom can help me with money matters I choose the graves of a family that I know have been financially successful for generations. So obviously one of them is great to work with if I need help financially.

I also should mention that spirits do not reward those whom are greedy. Now this is not about karma or anything like it. It’s how the spirit’s themselves feel about greed in general. Always remember unless you come across a spirit whom is pure evil they are far more spirituality evolved than we are and do not reward those whom are truly materialistic. Those are the people that end up with often a huge tragedy in their lives. They may end up with millions for example after a loved one could have been seriously injured or killed in some way or another. I’m not just saying this as other’s have told me and I’ve seen their stories of tragedy play out and by then there is nothing they can do. Not even trying to reverse their spell with their spirit helps because whatever has happened seems to always be irreversible.

I met a really Evil Witch whom was a neighbour years ago near one of my adult children. When I met her she boasted of making an 18 year old young man a paraplegic for life just because he annoyed her. Her aura was so dark and when she went to touch my hand it felt like an electric shock going through me. I quickly removed my hand that day when I first met her and said “I don’t want you touching me at all let alone read my palm”! She then cackled to herself and said to me; “Don’t worry I don’t want to be friend’s with a Witch whom only practises good magick”. To say I was stunned is an understatement. I felt pure evil that day within and surrounding her. So I stood up, made an excuse and got away from her straight away.  Her aura was the darkest I have ever seen like dark storm clouds before a major tsunami! So awful that words cannot explain the evil that I felt from her that was so bad that I felt nauseous. Thankfully after much magickal practise on my part my adult child moved away from there and then her whole life improved thereafter.

I’m honestly not saying this to frighten anyone but I do know from experience that necromancy is not a practice for the faint hearted. Thankfully Im not scared easily as I saw my first ghost/spirit at only 11 years old. So I guess I’m used to all types of paranormal activity in my life. In fact if it didn’t happen at all I would be freaked out then. Lol

You can use a couple of drops of blood in wine as well as Dragons blood for incense. I find that the disincarnate quite like that combination. They also like for incense frankincense, myrrh, sandalwood and patchouli amongst other things. They like crystals, they love food, alcohol, tobacco especially cigars, jewellery if you can spare it, religious statues for some, icons like Angel statues and all the things that they loved in life. Always remember not to be afraid as fear pushes them away or can make others not happy at all.

Happy Necromantic Workings also 

Blessings to you all,

CazWytch.

Leave a Reply

